Reviews

Home from home - Rating 5/5

This is the only place I will stay. Visiting Nikki and Ian is like returning home, nothing is ever a problem for them to make the stay perfect. See you again soon.

Response

Dear Paul, it was great to see you once again. Many thanks for your kind remarks. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Paul M | Sat 27th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent breakfast - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay. Comfortable room with views of the sea. Excellent breakfast. Very welcoming hosts.

Reviewer:Neil T | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 9 months ago


lyme bay house hotel - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay at Lyme House. Very clean, warm and an excellent breakfast.Very professional service.

Response

Dear Nigel, yes we do pride ourselves on warm comfy rooms with quality beds and bedding. Our Breakfasts are Award Winning so we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:nigel w | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 9 months ago


my stay - Rating 5/5

They make you feel welcome and are all ways on hand to help

Response

Dear Stephen, it was great to see you once again. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Stephen H | Sat 7th Oct 2017 | 10 months ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

nikki was a great host room was lovely clean and comfortable.breakfast a good variety nothing to much trouble .

Response

Dear Jeanette, many thanks for your very kind compliments. We are so pleased that you had a good experience at Lyme Bay House. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:jeanette j | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 11 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Nikki and Ian very welcoming hosts. This is a lovely b &b in a good position in Dawlish, bars and restaurants close by. Accommodation spotless, with very comfortable bed. The breakfast is amazing, food cooked to order and piping hot. Sets you up for the day. No hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Response

Dear Susan, thank you very much. Yes we are fortunate to be so close to the centre of Dawlish. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:SUSAN W | Mon 28th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


happy holiday - Rating 5/5

we had a great stay at Lyme house nothing was too much trouble breakfast great room very clean most of all Nikki was a bundle of funthanks again

Response

Dear Mike, many thanks. We are a Seaside Guest House, we hope with a certain charm. Certainly most of our guests appreciate that and enjoy Lyme Bay House as a comfortable cosy place that serves very good breakfasts. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:mike r | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 12 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Nikki and Ian were superb a really warm welcome. The reception area very nice with a small bar and plenty of comfortable seating. Room was superb lots of room and a great bathroom. Breakfast was wow enough to keep you going for the day. Parking was good. Very easy to find via satnav.

Response

Dear Ray, yes the new beds are exceptionally comfortable. Some of our guests have told us that they have never had a better night\'s sleep. Thank you very much for your review. It is always good to get feedback from guests so we can continue to strive for improvements. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:ray d | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lyme Bay House Excellent - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic. Nikki is a lovely lady for who nothing was too much trouble. Excellent locally sourced breakfast

Response

Dear David, many thanks and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House, especially the breakfast.For guests that do not have a huge appetite, the rather large Full English Breakfast is by no means compulsory.Guests can have a smaller breakfast simply by saying what they would prefer. We cater for all tastes and appetites.Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David B | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Andy @ Wendys break - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome from the time we got there right through our stay. Ian and Nicki are fantastic hosts and could not do enough for us.

Response

Dear Andrew, many thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. We do try and assist where we can especially with advice about good places to eat and drink and places to go and visit. It is always a good idea to book in advance in Dawlish particularly on Fridays, Saturdays and Sunday lunch times. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Andrew F | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nikki and Ian made us very welcome from the start. It felt like home from home. The room was very pleasant and the breakfasts were outstanding

Response

Thank you very much. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Roger H | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Super stay - Rating 5/5

I was made to feel very welcome by Nikki from the minute I arrived. My room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, all locally sourced products cooked to order by Nikki and served with friendly chat. She has the perfect manner for a hostess, making you feel important and looking after your every need. The lounge area is ideal for a night cap and my friends who were dropping me off were made just as welcome to stay and enjoy a drink. The location is ideal, just five minutes from the town centre but very quiet and peaceful. This was a real find and I will definitely return.

Response

Many thanks. Yes we do have exceptionally comfortable beds of the \"pocket-spring\" type. Many of our guests tell us that they have never had a better night\'s sleep. we hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan R | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room. Fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice. The hotel was a short walk from the station, beach and town centre.The proprietor was very kind and helpful and made us feel very welcome. I would stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much. Yes we pride ourselves particularly on the quality of both the bed and the breakfast - glad that you enjoyed both! Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Georgina F | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely accommodation - Rating 4/5

Very well situated, within walking distance of Dawlish town.Lovely hospitable hosts.Breakfast was amazing.Would stay there again.

Response

Many thanks. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and coffee. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Jill B | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay;great location for travelling around by train.Very comfortable room and delicious breakfasts served by lovely,friendly Nikki.We will definitely return.

Response

You are right we are in an ideal location for exploring South Devon by both train and bus. Hope to you again sometime. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Cerri M | Sun 21st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from hone - Rating 5/5

Whenever I have to stay in Dawlish I always stay at the Lyme bay House as its a home from home without the politics. Can't wait to stay again.

Response

Glad to know that you find Lyme Bay House so comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Paul M | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A Pleasureable stay - Rating 5/5

A big Thank you both to Nikki &Ian for a most pleasurable short stay at Lime Bay House.I would deeply recommend anybody who reads this review to visit this beautifully decorated and comfortableEstablishment. The included breakfast is not to missed.We will most certainly be returningSonia &Bill 08-09April 17

Response

Many thanks to you both. We really enjoyed your company. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:William F | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Would definately stay there again.Nikki and Ian were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble we were made so welcome. Our room was really nice with a very large and comfortable bed, the only down side to our room was the shower was to small for my husband as he suffers with claustrophobia. Nikki makes the best poached eggs i have tasted but then the whole breakfast was fabulous, a very large section of fruits and serials over haul very enjoyable stay.

Response

Many thanks. So glad you enjoyed your poached eggs. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David R | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Just right! - Rating 4/5

We are looking to settle in Devon and stayed with Nikiya and Ian for two nights. Not only were we very well looked after, but received invaluable tips on the best places to eat out and see, as well as great info on the area too. Breakfasts were huge, tasty and comprehensive and the room was a comfortable place to retreat to at the end of each day. We will be back later in the year!

Response

Many thanks. Yes we do try to help our guests find the best places to eat locally. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Peter M | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend stay - Rating 0/5

My friend and I had a very comfortable stay at Lyme Bay. Nikki made us very welcome and her breakfasts were just what we wanted - plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and well appointed with everything we needed. It was just a short walk from the station, although uphill. We would definitely return.

Response

Dear June, thank you very much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You said in your email that you wanted to leave 5 Stars but could not see how to do it - many thanks for that. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Ms. June C | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Relaxing place to stay - Rating 5/5

Roomy and light and close to town centre.Hosts (Ian and Kitty) were friendly and knowledgeable.Would definitely stay again. Breakfasts were great.

Response

Dear Tom, many thanks for your company it was good to talk to you both. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Tom A | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Relaxing place to stay - Rating 5/5

Roomy and light and close to town centre.Hosts (Ian and Kitty) were friendly and knowledgeable.Would definitely stay again. Breakfasts were great.

Response

Dear Tom, many thanks for your company it was good to talk to you both. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Tom A | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb breakfast - Rating 4/5

Very good stay for one night at Lyme Bay.Very comfortable and local to Dawlish centre.Breakfast was wonderful - best we have ever had in a Hotel.

Response

Dear Gill, thank you so much. We do pride ourselves on our breakfasts so we are pleased that you enjoyed it. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Gill W | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Had a very enjoyable stay in room 2, the four poster bedroom. Breakfast was exceptional, would definitely stay again if we are in the area

Response

Dear Paul, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your company it was good to meet you both. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Paul C | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Arrived as guests left as friends - Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay, Ian and Nikki are wonderful hosts and looked after us exceptionally well, rooms very clean, bed comfortable, breakfast amazing , coffee superb........ would highly recommend staying there and we will be back in the new year for sure........stevec

Response

Dear Steve, many thanks. Yes we do have exceptionally comfortable beds of the \"pocket-spring\" type. Many of our guests tell us that they have never had a better night\'s sleep. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and coffee. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Steve C | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Quick weekend away - Rating 5/5

Booked a last minute late deal and wasn't disappointed. Being greeted by a lovely lady Nicki. The room was nicely decorated and the bed, it was the biggest bed and very comfortable resulting in a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was also a very high standard. Well worth the money and will definitely book again

Response

Dear Sara, thank you so much. Yes we pride ourselves particularly on the quality of both the bed and the breakfast - glad that you enjoyed both! Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Sara G | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Friendly guest house - Rating 3/5

Very warm welcome and stay. Comfortable room. Outstanding breakfast. Homely atmosphere. Thank you Nikki for making it a great weekend.

Response

Dear David, thank you very much. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David R | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


We\'re back again - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, good size bed and a hearty breakfast served with a welcoming smile by your host Nikki. Ideal location for a stroll along Dawlish sea wall or a short trip into the heart of Torbay.

Response

Dear Steve, yes we are ideally situated for exploring all of South Devon and Dartmoor by train, bus or car. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Lyme Bay House, Dawlish. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Steve C | Thu 6th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


good base for Dawlish - Rating 4/5

I only booked the previous day and was grateful for the offer to book me somewhere for dinner - I'd've been hungry if I'd gone out to look for somewhere.Made very welcome;room comfortable;breakfast vg.

Response

Dear Shona, yes we do try to assist guests with restaurant recommendations and bookings. It is always a good idea to book in advance especially on Friday and Saturday evenings. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Shona C | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


WEEKEND BREAK - Rating 5/5

We booked at very short notice, and Ian and Nikki were super in sorting a room and breakfast for 3 nights. The room was clean, the bed/mattress of a high quality and the breakfast freshly cooked, with plenty of cereals, fruit and yoghurt for starters. Enough to last us through to evening meal as we walked miles around the Dawlish and South Devon Coast. But that's to be expected, what really sets this apart as a 5 star experience is the warm hospitality from the minute you arrive for breakfast to a night cap, or two, in the guests bar before bed time, in the company of hosts/owners Ian and Nikki. We loved it ! Thank you

Response

Dear Dave, many thanks for your review and your comment about a \\\"...5 star experience ..\\\". We do try hard to please our guests so it is very satisfying when we succeed. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. DAVE R | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Stay in Dawlish - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast.Hosts very friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome.

Response

Dear Colin, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your breakfast. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Colin B | Thu 28th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Excellent hosts

Response

Dear Andrew, thank you for your company we really enjoyed it. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Andrew J | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


EXCELLENT 2nd STAY - Rating 4/5

Really nice, friendly proprietors. Clean, tidy room and of course their renowned breakfasts presided over by the bubbly Nikki.

Response

Many thanks Stuart and thank you for your company, It was a pleasure to have you staying with us at Lyme Bay House, Dawlish. We hope to see you in the Autumn. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart W | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Accommodations - Rating 5/5

Room was very nice. Have stayed at many B&B's in England and this was, by far, one of the best breakfasts we've ever had.Hosts are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.A great place to stay as a base to explore the south coast and Devon area.

Response

Dear Chris & Lynn, thank you so much. It really is reassuring when guests from the USA are so complimentary. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Chris H | Wed 13th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay at Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

What a lovely friendly couple Nikki and Ian are plus so helpful, kind and considerate. This is a great place to stay and it is dead easy to get into Dawlish on foot. Restaurant in Dawlish - Jack Spratt's - excellent. Best breakfast ever at Lyme Bay House (I would say). Nothing negative at all. Many thanks.

Response

Thanks you so much. We are looking forward to seeing you all again next year in July for Powderham Castle\\\'s Classic Car Show. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Terence John D | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


A week in Dawlish - Rating 5/5

The stay in Dawlish was very relaxing, this was mainly due to the hotel. We made some exciting visits to Teignmouth, Plymouth and the RSA Rosemoor ;but always looked forward to our return to Lyme Bay House.The breakfasts set us up every day, we didn't need much more to eat, the bedroom was comfortable,the other guests were friendly,and the owners were very helpful and made the atmosphere in the hotel very nice.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us at Lyme Bay House. You really did make the most of it travelling around the area and visiting some of the wonderful places near by. We hope to see you again during Autumn or Winter when we offer our 3 for 2 Discounted three night breaks. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Fred E | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic value - Rating 5/5

Nikki was a great host, fun person, room extremely comfortable, very large ensuite and shower, breakfast was a feast, lots of variety. Hotel is very clean and friendly, great value, close to beach, station and buses

Response

Dear ChristineThanks very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate it when our guests are satisfied and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We had some great fun and good laughs over the weekend.Please do recommend us to your friends!We hope to see you again soon.Regards, Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine C | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


June 2016 weekend stay - Rating 5/5

My visit to Lyme Bay House was excellent and I was well looked after- My wheat free and dairy free diet was well catered for, which was very helpful, I decided to extend my stay and was given a beautiful sea view room. I would recommend staying here to anybody.

Response

Dear PamelaWe are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.It was a pleasure providing breakfast to suit your Gluten-Free dietary requirements.We attempt to provide breakfasts to suit all tastes and appetites. For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki\'s freshly prepared fruit salad.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanksNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Pamela G | Sun 12th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Roy & Dawn Lambourne - Rating 4/5

Great hotel would recommend great host Nicki will stay again clean tidy and friendly

Response

Dear Roy & DawnThank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanksNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Dawn L | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Had a very comfortable stay at the Lyme bay house, rooms very clean, spacious and comfortable. We were very well looked after by the hosts nikki and Ian. Would stay their again without hesitation

Response

Thank you very much. We really appreciate your kind comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House in Dawlish. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. KevinW | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Visitng family - Rating 4/5

We were made welcome. The accomodation was clean and comfortable with a good level of sundries. A hearty and tasty breakfast. Definatley return in the future.

Response

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks, Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Terry H | Thu 5th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Very Good Stay - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality. Clean comfortable room and superb breakfast. Will return when in area.

Response

Many thanks - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher H | Tue 19th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Easter stay 2016 - Rating 4/5

Centrally located in Dawlish, so close enough to leave the car and visit everything by foot. We had room 7 and it was lovely and quiet, with just the best comfortable bed. The breakfast was lovely, and with a good choice. Nikki was very attentive, and nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely stay when back down in Dawlish again.

Response

Yes many of our guests park their car for the duration of their stay and explore the area on foot, by bicycle, by bus and by train. There is plenty to do in Dawlish and the surrounding area especially if you simply want to \"get away\" for a relaxing break. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and of course our Award Winning Breakfasts. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. DAVID M | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We only had one night at this extremely comfortable B&B but very much enjoyed the supersized bed with plenty of pillows and cushions.Breakfast was a delight with fresh fruit salad, lots of choices of cereals and jams and a very splendid 'fullEnglish' which looked great and tasted good too.

Response

Dear Patricia & Richard, yes the new Super King Size beds 6 ft. (1,800mm) wide and 6 ft. 6 in. (1,950mm) long are very popular with our guests and very comfortable partly due to the 1,500 pocket spring mattresses.We are so pleased that you both enjoyed our Award Winning Breakfast and not just the \"Full English\" but also Nikki\'s freshly ripened and prepared fruit salad.Kind regards, Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Patricia O | Wed 16th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely hosts- Rating 5/5

What a welcoming couple Nikki and Ian are. Nice location of hotel and good facilities in the rooms. Minor misunderstanding with the room which was resolved without any question and we were looked after so well. Would strongly recommend for all types of traveller.

Response

Thank you both very much. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mark B | Tue 26th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Visiting Dawlish- Rating 4/5

convenient location , very welcoming and the best breakfast experience we had whilst in the UK

Response

Thanks for your compliments - really appreciated - Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Alan L | Tue 29th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

Despite being a very late arrival I was warmly greeted and offered a meal. Very comfortable bed and splendid breakfast.

Response

Dear Stephen, many thanks for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House - especially the breakfast. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Stephen I | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, friendly Hotel - Nikki went out of her way to make us welcome and enjoy our stay. Bre.akfast was good too

Response

Dear AnneWe are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts and particularly liked the award winning Devon jams and marmalade.Many thanks for your kind comments. It is always so pleasing to have satisfied guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Anne T | Thu 19th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, The room was lovely very spacious and comfortable and more than adequate facilities. The choice of food for breakfast was plentiful and tasted and looked delicious. I look forward to coming to stay again. Thank you for making me feel so welcome.

Response

Dear CatherineThank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki\'s freshly prepared fruit salad.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanksNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Catherine C | Thu 19th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great for the weekend break - Rating 5/5

The warmest of welcomes, comfortable rooms and facilities and a great plus to have parking for all cars in this convenient location (if you know Dawlish, this is precious!!)

Response

Dear CatherineYes the Free On-Site Parking is a huge bonus as on street parking in Dawlish is scarce and there are not many Car Park either. You also have to pay for some street parking and of course the Car Parks.Because we are only a few minutes walk from the town centre it is very convenient to leave the car and walk into Dawlish.Also, the public transport is excellent - buses and trains - so getting around the area without taking the car is very easy. So much so that many of our regular customers park the car when they arrive and do not use it again until they leave.Thank you so much for your kind comments.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Catherine L | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely relaxing place - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed staying at Lyme bay house. Super lovely hosting and fabulous bedroom- definitely worth paying a little extra for the spacious room and enormous bathroom. Breakfast was served with a cheery smile and darkish itself was a treasure for walking. Only downside was that ex wished we'd stayed for two nights rather than just the one!

Response

Yes you are right. Most guests comment on how comfortable the Four Poster bed is. The room is spacious with Sea View. It has a large table for reading, spreading-out or computer working. The bathroom has both bath and shower. There is also a Mini-Bar Fridge. The room is also equipped with a 42\" Flat Screen TV.We are glad you enjoyed it here in Dawlish.It is very different to most places especially larger towns in land. Even in the Autumn and Winter months it is a welcome alternative to the hustle and bustle of city life and there is plenty to do if you like walking, cycling and outdoor life.Alternatively, if you just want to relax you can stay in and read or watch TV.Public transport in the area is extremely good with buses and trains providing good access to plenty of places nearby. we can always offer a few suggestions if you are not sure what you want to do.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Lisa D | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Very clean - Rating 5/5

My room was very clean and comfortable. Nikki was very good at making you feel special and also giving you space. Just what I needed.

Response

Dear YvonneThanks for spending time with us here in Dawlish and many thanks for your kind words.We do hope to see you again in the near future - perhaps for a little longer next time - we hardly had time to get to know you really well.RegardsNikki & ian

Reviewer:Yvonne F | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Comfort and freedom at Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

A really great stay. Lovely position for exploring South Devon and we couldn't have been better looked after.

Response

Dear LindaYou are absolutely right, Lyme Bay House, Dawlish is an ideal place to explore Exeter, South Devon, the English Riviera and Dartmoor.Being so close to the railway station – only a few hundred yards – you can start by experiencing the wonderful coastal railway line built by Brunel and featured on the BCC TV program Coast.There are fantastic sea and river views to Exeter one way and Newton Abbot the other.It is also very worthwhile getting the train to Paignton and then the steam from there to Kinswear and Dartmouth.We hope to see you again sometimeRegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Ms. Linda S | Mon 7th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


pleasurable peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service absolutely no issues will be returning for the gorgeous breakfast and friendly atmosphere

Response

Dear JohnThank you very much for your kind compliments.We so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts for which we are well-renowned and have received a Visit England Breakfast Award.Looking forward to seeing you both again in 2016!RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:John G | Thu 3rd Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

We had a short break in the honeymoon suite. The room was lovely &very comfortable. Superb hosts, excellent customer service, very welcoming &friendly. The breakfast wasdelicious &ample choice of cereal,fruit, full English. We would highly recommend a stay at Lyme bay. Many thanks to Nikki &Ian.

Response

Dear HelenThanks very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate it when our guests are satisfied and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.Please do recommend us to your friends!We hope to see you again soon.Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen L | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Great location and stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great weekend stay with Nikki and Ian, who were always helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious, with a comfortable bed and well equipped with all the necessities. Breakfast was delicious, we were both suitably impressed! On the Sunday we were having a walk around town before we caught our train, so Ian kindly suggested we keep our bags in the reception and picked them up later. A little thoughtfulness goes a long way! We would definitely recommend.

Response

Dear JoanneWe are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Yes we are ideally situated for the station and only a short 5 minute walk. For anyone with restricted mobility there are always taxis at the station.A lot of our guests arrive by train and then use both the trains and buses to explore the area.Many of our Guests are regular customers that come back every Summer and again in late Autumn, Winter and Early Spring when we run our Special Offers. Perhaps we will see you again then.Many thanks and regardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Miss. Joanne M | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Highly Recommened - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely 3 days break bedroom was luxury fitted, spotlessly clean,Breakfast was 1st class all you can eat.Friendly People will be staying again.

Response

Dear SharonYou are right about the Breakfasts - for those that want to there is no need to eat another meal until the evening. However, for those that have a Lunch appointment we do have plenty of smaller and less filling options. Whatever you want for breakfast, just let us know and we will do our best to please.Many of our Guests are regular customers that come back every Summer and again in late Autumn, Winter and Early Spring when we run our Special Offers. Perhaps we will see you again then.Many thanks and regardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Sharon C | Sun 16th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Lyme Bay House. Nikki and Ian are great hosts. Lovely place to stay, rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast's were excellent.Thanks again for a good holiday, we look forward to a return visit.Jo &Tim XX

Response

Dear Tim & JoThank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki\'s freshly prepared fruit salad.Hope to see you both again soon!Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Timothy K | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

Very friendly relaxed atmosphere. Great location and superb breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Response

Dear RobWe are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us and we really enjoyed your company. Having our own free on-site Car Park really does make a difference. The very short walk into town means that you do not really need to take the car with you.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanksNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Rob L | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Very nice stay in Dawlish- Rating 5/5

I much enjoyed my short stay,comfortable room,delicious breakfast and most of all welcome from friendly owner Nikki who offered help with tips for evening meal,getting around,etc. I hope to be back!

Response

Dear DavidWe have several good places to eat within a few minutes walk and more a short journey away some in the countryside. We are always pleased to offer advice on good places to eat - so we encouage all guests to please ask if this helps.Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David H | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A+ B&B - Rating 5/5

owners ian &nikiya could not have been more welcoming, friendlier or helpful, spacious and comfortable room, tight parking spaces, but guaranteed, very good location and fab breakfast.

Response

Dear JimYes the parking spaces are a little tight but at least there is one for each of our nine rooms.Having our own Car Park is a real bonus as parking is in very short supply in Dawlish especially in the summer and now even more so since The Strand redevelopment last year. Many of our guests park their car upon arrival and spend all of their time with us travelling on foot, by bicycle, by bus or by train.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House.RegardsNikki & ian

Reviewer:Jim M | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Dawlish break - Rating 4/5

Fantastic stay at Lyme Bay House. Service was super freindly and the breakfasts are world class. Our 4 poster bed room was great for our needs, very clean and good easy access. Only small gripe is shower needs upgrading

Response

Dear DerekYes many thanks - we like your \"world class\" breakfasts accolade.The shower has now been upgraded - thank you for bringing it to our attention.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Derek F | Sat 1st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Lyme bay house is a short walk up the hill from the railway station.The room was spacious with a sea view and a Lovley large bathroom,the room was very clean and bright,small fridge and a table and chairs which we found useful in the evenings.the breakfast was of a very high standard,lots of fresh fruit,yogurts,juices,the full cooked breakfast is hard to resist,and the toast was hot every morning.Nikki was a Lovley host at breakfast everyone is made to feel special.

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. You are right about the breakfasts a Full English is for the very hungry.Dear LeslyThanks for your kind comments especially regarding our breakfasts.We do offer a smaller Full English if requested and there is always the option to \\\"mix and match\\\" any of the items on the menu.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us and we really enjoyed your company. Having our own free on-site Car Park really does make a difference. The very short walk into town means that you do not really need to take the car with you.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanks and regardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Lesly H | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lyme Bay House- Rating 4/5

Nicki and Ian were very welcoming. Well located, tidy accommodation. Excellent breakfast.

Response

Dear JohnYes we are very lucky.Exeter is only 12 miles away so we offer a pleasant alternative to city centre hotels and it is less than 20 minutes to Exeter St Davids by train with Dawlish station only 5 minutes walk from us.Dawlish town centre is only a few minutes walk.Hope to see you again.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Wed 24th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

Lovelly Location. Comfortable Guest House and absolutely lovelly hosts.

Response

Dear MartinMany thanks.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Martin E | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


??????????????????????// - Rating 4/5

We had 2 nights here and the owners are very nice, food was top notch and the hotel clean. I did book a double room but ended up with a family room. Think it was because we were the last ones to check-in that day. So ended up with room 12 which was noisy. with it being a hot day we left the window open when we when out to find on our return 4 bugs in the room from the plants outside. so should have a fly net on the window.. So stay there as it is nice but keep out of room 12

Response

Dear WayneVery sorry about the Summer insect from the Garden.For anyone living in a town or city the road noise is minor by comparison even for the room closest to the main road. For any really light sleepers we do have rooms well away from the road.Thanks for your comments.Kind regardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. wayne k | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Our two night stay was excellent. Hosts Ian and partner Nicky made you feel very welcome. Breakfast superb. Hotel very clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Room décor a little drab and no bedside lamp but other than that would recommend.

Response

Dear BernardGlad you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are with us we will give you a brighter room.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Bernard C | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


david hall - Rating 5/5

Such friendly hosts. Room was lovely and clean and breakfasts were brilliant. Couldn't ask for more.

Response

Dear DavidThank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.Hope to see you again soon!Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:DAVID H | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lyme bay house- Rating 5/5

Just got back from a four night stay at this lovely guest house.Excellent hospitality from Nikki and Ian lovely couple. Probably one of the best breakfast we have ever had at a guest house in fact YES the best!!!Will return Dave and Julie

Response

Dear Dave & JulieThank you so much for your compliments.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are ideally situated for exploring the area, not only Dawlish itself but also a wide area around us. Buses to Exeter and Newton Abbot stop right outside and the railway station is only 5 minutes walk away.Exeter Airport is only 30 minutes away and we can arrange taxis if required.We try to keep a good selection of jams and preserves, including reduced sugar ones, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed them so much.Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David S | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


perfect stay! - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with great views.fantastic hosts- nothing was too much trouble!Excellent breakfast.

Response

Dear LynneThanks very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate it when our guests are satisfied and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.Please do recommend us to your friends!We hope to see you again soon.Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Lynne P | Sat 30th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here on business and upon my arrival Nikki made me feel so welcome showed me to my room which was also comfortable and everything you need for tea and coffee. Breakfast was amazing had a great vairity. Highly recommend

Response

Dear Glenys, many thanks for staying with us at Lyme Bay House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Glenys H | Fri 22nd May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great find! - Rating 5/5

This lovely guesthouse is only a short walk from the station and beach. My en suite room was very comfortable and well equipped with tea and coffee, hairdryer and toiletries. Nikki and Ian are super hospitable, and I was relieved to see their bar was open when I arrived at 10pm from London! Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit and a locally sourced fry up...perfect. I will be back....

Response

Dear Georgina, many thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Georgina K | Sun 17th May 2015 | 3 years ago


A good quality room - Rating 5/5

Nikki &Ian were most welcoming. the room was quiet, clean and well equipped with a quality en suite. The breakfast was great with plenty of it served with a smile. The hotel is a short walk to the town of Dawlish.

Response

Thank you very much - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Ivor F | Mon 11th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Couldn\'t fault anything - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts, clean, comfortable, great location, be prepared for a delicious huge breakfast if you have a hearty appetite this is the place for you.

Response

Many thanks for your kind remarks Joy. For those that prefer a smaller breakfast we do of course offer that as well. Please order what you want and say so if you prefer a smaller portion. Thanks again Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Joy C | Sat 9th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

I travelled down on the Friday before a Bank Holiday, and as I was approaching the time I said I would arrive, the owners (Nikki and Ian) phoned me to make sure I was ok, which I thought was a really nice touch. When I arrived, they were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was well presented and neat and tidy.There is a bar area, with a nice selection of drinks, and always friendly conversation.The breakfasts were superb, and very filling. As a man used to staying in hotels most of the week because of business, it was increibly refreshing to receive a personal touch, almost like the theme tune from Cheers, where everybody knows your name.Would I stay here again? DEFINITELY

Response

David many thanks for your support.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House and have taken the time to post this review. Feedback from our guests is extremely important for helping us maintain our high standards.It is good to know that we offer an attractive and refreshing alternative to the usual business hotels for those like you that travel a lot. We look forward to seeing you again.Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:David G | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at Lyme Bay House, mine hosts were very helpful and welcoming, and the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous - thank you

Response

Many thanks - very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Lesley A | Mon 4th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Stephen & Doreen - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely B&B to stay at in Dawlish.The breakfasts are exceptionally good and you need strong willpower not to come home several pounds heavier.Nikki is one of the friendliest hosts we have met and nothing is too much trouble. We would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and will certainly return there if in the area.

Response

Dear Stephen & Doreen, thank you for coming to stay with us at Lyme Bay House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We do take great pride in serving a quality hearty breakfast from local Devon produce, or smaller options for those with a smaller appetite. We do also offer vegetarian breakfasts and special dietary requirements (the latter by prior arrangement - just call us in advance). We hope to see you again soon. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Stephen C | Sat 25th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely visit to Dawlish - Rating 5/5

Our stay was excellent. A beautiful room and view, great breakfasts and lovely host. Dawlish is a great location to travel from by train (station is an 1/8 of a mile down the hil) and by bus (stops right by the b&b) or take the car along senic coast roads. No complaints at all.

Response

Thank you for your review - it is most appreciated. You are right, we have very good public transport by both bus and train very nearby. We are in an ideal location to explore Dawlish and the surrounding areas of South Devon. RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Keith O | Thu 16th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Cosy B&B - Rating 5/5

A really nice place to stay, room clean, warm and well looked after, Tea and coffee provided in the room, there's a little mini fridge which you can keep your own refreshments or use and pay for theirs.The owners are very friendly and helpful.Plenty of choice for breakfast and very plentiful.Situated very close to the main town of Dawlish, just a 5 minute walk away, Places like Torquay just a drive away.Plenty a different places to eat out.Will be staying there again next year.Highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your very kind compliments. Yes, we are lucky to be ideally situated for exploring the local area. There are some good places to eat locally and we can assist guests according to their preferences in booking somewhere suitable. It is always advisable to book well ahead for Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday lunch time. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan H | Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Fab find - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, lovely clean accomodation, Nickie and Ian are the perfect hosts, making you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.We will be back

Response

Thanks you very much - we look forward to seeing you again. Nikki and Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila M | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Our visit - Rating 5/5

Upon arrival we were made very welcome, and on being shown to our room were well satisfied.Breakfast was superb and any special request seemed to be no trouble.We were more than satisfied and would readily visit again.

Response

Many thanks to you and so pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. Yes, we do try to please and are open to \"special requests\". Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. James G | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Our mini break - Rating 5/5

Thankyoufor our enjoyable stay at Lyme bay house,I will be recommending it to my friends.Nicky was the perfect host recommending places to eat and go also breakfast was excellent and vey clean and tidy

Response

Dear AnnMany thanks for your kind comments. It is always so pleasing to have satisfied guests.We look forward to seeing you again soon.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Ms. Ann S | Sun 29th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


lyme bay house - Rating 5/5

a most pleasant stay, a very friendly couple greeted us on arrival and the room and food were first class would definatly stay again.

Response

Dear WilliamThank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki\'s freshly prepared fruit salad.Hope to see you again soon!Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. William K | Thu 26th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Lyme Bay House- Rating 5/5

Thank you Nikki and Ian for your hospitality and making my stay with you so comfortable.I really hope to see you again next time I am down your way.I can thoroughly recommend the Lyme Bay House - and, Nikki, your breakfasts were fantastic!TheB@Bhas excellent parking facilities and is situated close to townand sea front.

Response

Dear AnnWe are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us and we really enjoyed your company. Having our own free on-site Car Park really does make a difference. The very short walk into town means that you do not really need to take the car with you.We hope that you will join us for a Special Offer Autumn & Winter Break. Please just call us for details of offers or check our website.Many thanksNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Ms. Ann J | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


norton and woolley - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay,as we were visiting family in the area.it was ideal as we could walk to there house.breakfast was excellent,found the owner and staff to be very helpful

Reviewer:Mrs. Delia N | Thu 26th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation in perfect location short walk to dawlish beach and centre!Our stay was made most enjoyable by the warm but unobtrusive welcome of the proprietor Niikki.Excellent breakfast. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer V | Sun 22nd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely hotel in perfect location - Rating 5/5

This is a really cosy and friendly B&B with all the facilities you need. There is free parking on site but we rarely used our car as the hotel is situated within 5 minutes' walk of the Town centre, the station and the magnificent coastal path - and there is a bus stop right outside! The room was spotlessly clean, as was the whole establishment. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay with plenty of cold options and delicious locally-sourced produce expertly cooked by Niky and Ian, who were the perfect hosts throughout. We had a lovely break in Devon and will certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Bern N | Fri 20th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Our break - Rating 5/5

It was a last minuet decision to take a short break and I found the Lyme Bay House on line. I have to say that it lived up to the positive reviews.A very friendly welcome, the room was excellent, we could not have asked for anything better. We had a wonderful experience. We would like to thank Nikki &Ian for made the stay most enjoyable, we would not hesitate to recommend the Lyme Bay House to our friends and we hope to return in the future. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Geoffrey B | Thu 19th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome, very nice couple who run the establishment. Room was clean, good value for the money paid. Thank you

Response

Dear Terry, many thanks and well done catching so many mackerel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Terence D | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Good place - Rating 5/5

Needed B &B somewhere near Newton Abbott, this was the only place I could find with 2 rooms available.Did not warm to Dawlish very much, but this large B &B was just superb. Clean and comfortable rooms, adorable hosts, great fun, and superb breakfast. Highly recommended!

Response

Many thanks for finding us and enjoying your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Robin M | Fri 22nd Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome - comfortable room with sea view - excellent breakfast (all the best ingredients), grilled instead of fried, therefore not running in fatty grease, fresh fruits, cereals and good bread used for toast plus excellent freshly made coffee. There is a bar available but most important is the provision of adequate private parking.Booking was straight-forward (in our case made quite well in advance)and a subsequent 'phone call requesting an extra night was dealt with in an efficient and easy manner. Owners, Ian and Nikky, neither of whom did we know previously, made certain our stay was enjoyable without imposing themselves upon us.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel W | Fri 15th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


magic - Rating 5/5

very clean and central location, friendly owner with first class b/fast, would recommend to all going to the Dawlish area.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor J | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Very Pleasant - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Lyme House as a business traveller but with my partner also.The owners were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.The room was very well presented, clean and well stocked.I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Ms. Andrea W | Fri 8th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Lyme Bay House is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for 4 days Monday to Friday in room 1. Wonderfully appointed room with en suite facilities. Great breakfasts served by Ian and Nikki- both charming and very welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their advice on eating establishments in the local area was excellent. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place and we are suere that we will return in future.

Response

Dear David & AnnWe are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very satisfying to know that you found our advice and recommendations helpful. We want our guests to have an exceptional time when visiting Dawlish and the surrounding area so we feel that it important that they know the best places to go especially for evening meals.Some guests prefer to do their own research or take “pot luck” and find places for themselves.That is of course fine with us. However, the vast majority welcome a few suggestions which we are always pleased to offer.Upon check-in all guests are offered a Dawlish Map showing the location of Lyme Bay House and other local amenities. This is quite helpful for locating some of the places just outside the main areas around The Lawn.Thank you for your compliments about our breakfasts and Nikki’s Fresh Fruit Salad – melon, pineapple, grapes, strawberries et al – she really appreciates it.We look forward to seeing you both again sometime.RegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Fri 8th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Breakfast with a smile - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay, room was very clean and presentable, bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very large very well cooked and served with a smile every morning. Both Ian &nikki were great hosts we will recommend Lyme bay house with confidence.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher C | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Stayed 4 nights, and everything was excellent.The room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast out of this world and Ian and Nikki great hosts. I have no hesitation in recommending Lyme Bay House wholeheartedly.

Reviewer:Mr. Carlton B | Fri 25th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel and it was wonderful. We stayed in the 4 poster bed room and was well worth the few extra pounds, the room is huge ,attention to detail is second to none so beautiful. The place is spotless and clean. The food is fab well cooked and presented and lots of it. Nicky and Ian make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Book with confidence . simply wonderful .

Response

Dear Darren & Denise, thank you both so much for your very kind compliments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise J | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Place! - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night but we were made very welcome.The room was extremely well appointed and we both had a good night's sleep.The breakfast was excellent - one of the best we've had.The bacon was delicious and not greasy and the portion size was generous.Would definitely stay again on a return to Dawlish!

Response

Many thanks Caroline for your compliments. Yes, the bacon that we use is local dry cured smoked rind-less back. Breakfast is arguably the most important meal of the day, especially when on holiday. We strive to offer the best that we possibly can which is why all breakfasts are cooked freshly to order. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline T | Wed 16th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Very warm welcome to Dawlish - Rating 5/5

Lyme Bay House is an excellent B&B - Ian and Nikki were incredibly welcoming and did everything they could to help us enjoy our short stay. The rooms were spotless, the location central and the breakfasts both huge and delicious!We would definitely stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend this B&B.

Response

Dear Clare, thank you very much for your very kind comments. We really appreciate it. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. Clare C | Sat 5th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Very enjoyable - Rating 5/5

We had four very comfortable nights in a very clean room. The breakfast kept us going for the day .Good fresh products well cooked.Nikki was great fun especially when she gave me the wrong breakfast. ( Where are my sausages?)Ian was helpful with recommending restaurants etc.Thank you Both for a relaxing stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara A | Thu 19th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Two days in Dawlish - Rating 5/5

we stayed just 2 days,however we both wish our stay was longer. Room was beautiful, spotlessly clean,bright and fresh. Breakfast was excellent, kept us going all day. We'll be going back, thats for sure!!

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Sat 14th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Night away - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome from Nikki.Unfortunately we awoke very early and decided not to wait for breakfast as this was not served until 9.00am which was a bit late for us.Room was clean and overlooked the main road and sea.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren L | Wed 7th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Very good, breakfasts excellent you don't need to eat for the rest of the day. This is the second time we have stayed there and would recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline W | Sun 4th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I felt very welcome when I came to stay. Nikki was extremely friendly and helpful. The guesthouse is located very conveniently for beautiful walks and only 3 mins walk to the train station. The room was clean and comfy, and the veggie breakfast was delicious and v filling! I would definitely recommend staying here, thanks a lot!

Reviewer:Ms. Kerrianne O | Wed 23rd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

Most comfortable beds,wonderful freshly cooked breakfast with delicious fresh fruit salad,easy parking,dog friendly,but no tell tale trace of other dogs having stayed there.Convenient location- a great find

Response

Many thanks to you both - we hope to see you again later in the year. Regards Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff M | Sun 13th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Definately would recommend - Rating 5/5

Hi Nikki, Ian, had a fabulous time and would defo recommend to friends and we will defo be back in September for my birthday.The reviews we read before staying with you totally completed the break.U r exceptional.Well done and continue doing what you do.Cannot thank you enough.You both would do anything for anyone, looking 4wd to coming back.Jane and Chris, Weymouth

Response

Dear Jane & Chris, thanks so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on your special occasion. We look forward to seeing you later in the year for your birthday. Hopefully then you will be able to walk along the sea-wall to Dawlish Warrren. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher S | Tue 25th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend booking - Rating 5/5

We were made vey welcome . With a key to the front door we were free to come and go as we pleased. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Grace D | Wed 19th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


wonderful stay- Rating 5/5

we had stayed in Lyme Bay House for couple nights for a new years celebration.it was our first time in Dawlish and on southern coast of Devon.if not for Ian and Nikki,owners of this beautiful B&B,our stay could have been not as pleasant.we were met as a family members even it was our first time seeing these lovely people.we were advised on places to go,eat and have a drink.rooms are warm and cosy. especially one with for poster bed :Dthank You very much for lovely experience and looking forvard seeing You again !!Vilana and GWitney

Reviewer:Mrs. Vilana B | Sat 4th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Short but happy stay - Rating 5/5

My cousin and I received a very warm welcome from Nicky.She was sensitive to our needs and went out of her way to ensure that our stay would be comfortable and trouble free.Our breakfasts lived up to our expectations. Excellent! Our room was clean and comfortable and we will return to Lyme Bay House in the future.

Response

Nikki is always pleased to help you with whatever you need. We are glad that you enjoyed our Devon bacon, sausages and eggs. We hope to see you both again! Regards Ian & Nikki

Reviewer:Mrs. Isobel W | Tue 21st May 2013 | 5 years ago


Lyme Bay House - Rating 5/5

My wife and I were very satisfied with our stay at Lyme Bay House , comfortable room, great breakfast , and made to feelvery much at home by Nicky and Ian.

Response

We so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House.We are very lucky to be so centrally situated. We have excellent bus and train connections to Dawlish Warren, Cockwood, Starcross, Exeter, Lympstone and Exmouth in one direction and Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Torquat, Paignton, Dartmouth, Totnes and Plymouth in the other.A day trip railway ride to Barnstaple on The Tarka Line is also well worth it - get on at Dawlish, change at Exeter and follow the scenic journey through the Tarka Valley to Barnstaple and explore the historic town center.Thanks again Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Michael R | Mon 20th May 2013 | 5 years ago


A GREAT 3 DAYS - Rating 5/5

EXCELLENT HOTEL. VERY FRIENDLY AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL. TRY THE FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST,YOU WILL NOT NEED TO EAT AGAIN THAT DAY UNTIL EVENING. GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

Response

Dear Mr Ellis, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your very kind compliments. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Robert E | Wed 15th May 2013 | 5 years ago


PERFECT B & B - Rating 5/5

We have been travelling to Dawlish for many, many years and at different times of the year as well. It was our first time staying here and wasn't disappointed. The room we had, with sea view, was very clean and very comfortable. Also room was on a very busy main road and we couldn't hear any traffic at all. The only thing I found missing in the room was a hairdryer, but I managed without,it's just a minor detail, and it didn't spoil our holiday. I'm sure had I asked Nikki she would have loaned me one. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Nikki and Ian were the perfect hosts, very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Lyme Bay House is very central and the on site parking was just great, no need to take car into Dawlish as it's just a five minute walk away. Buses stop right outside and Dawlish station is 5/10 minute walk, obviously, depending on how slow/fast you walk. Would have no hesitation in recommending Lyme Bay House and will certainly be returning on our next visit to Dawlish. Thank you Nikki and Ian, happy golfing.

Response

We so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lyme Bay House. You are right we are very lucky to be so centrally situated. We have excellent bus and train connections to Dawlish Warren, Cockwood, Starcross, Exeter, Lympstone and Exmouth in one direction and Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Torquat, Paignton, Dartmouth, Totnes and Plymouth in the other.A day trip railway ride to Barnstaple on The Tarka Line is also well worth it - get on at Dawlish, change at Exeter and follow the scenic journey through the Tarka Valley to Barnstaple and explore the historic town center.There should be a hairdryer in every room so we are not sure what happened to the one in your room. Always feel free to ask if you need anything.Thanks again Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Mon 6th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Good rooms - Rating 4/5

Very beautiful room, good breakfast, but a little bit to cold in the rooms!

Response

Dear Mathias, Thank you so much. We are so sorry that you felt a little cold - the weather was not at its best for your stay with us. However, when you come the next time please do not forget to request an additional portable heater. Nikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Mathias K | Thu 4th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely Stay at Lyme Bay House - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay. breakfast was to say the least "Superb". Hoast's very friendly and helpful.ThankyouJackie &John

Response

Dear Jackie & John, thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are really please that you enjoyed our Devon breakfast freshly cooked to order from local bacon and sausages and free range farm eggs. We also do a lovely vegetarian breakfast with a good choice of meat-free items.We look forward to seeing you again in the summer possibly for the Dawlish Airshow - http://dawlishairshow.co.uk/newindexRegardsNikki & Ian

Reviewer:Mrs. JackieF | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Contact

Lyme Bay House
34 West Cliff
Dawlish
Devon
EX7 9DN

01626 864211
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks